A seven movement work, the movements representing the Chakras of the human body, with each in a different mode.


SOLO WOODWIND – Cercle de Lumiere

Tom Hoffman

This seven movement work represents the Chakras of the human body, with each movement in a different mode.  The first movement is in C phrygian, followed by D aeolian, E dorian, F# melodic minor, Ab mixolydian, Bb ionian , C lydian. Each successive mode rises in progression of whole steps until the the C to C octave is completed depicting the circle of energy. A beautiful and evocative soliloquy dedicated to the composer’s grandmother who was 104 years old when this piece was written!  A fine recital piece.


• Advanced

• Unique sounds

• Duration 15 minutes.


Additional information

Weight 5 oz

Leave a Reply